the mystical explosion of many photographed images

Image

So I managed the herculean task of connecting my camera to my computer, so today’s post is, as the title outright proclaims, a mystical explosion of many photographed images. The mysticism is from…the…I don’t know. TIME FOR PRETTY THINGS.

That first shot is from the play I saw in Tokyo, Takizawa Kabuki. Those gold thingies are gorgeous pieces of confetti that rained down from the ceiling during a part of the play I think of as the Japanese Robin Hood scene. Nezumi, the sexy ninja-looking dude who robs from the rich and gives to the poor, stands atop a roof onstage and flings out some gold pieces, and then thousands of gold pieces flutter down from the ceiling of the theater. Sitting in a shower of ancient Japanese money – I have to say, it was one of the most magical theater experiences of my life.

I like shiny things. A lot.

Image

While I was in Roppongi for lunch, I saw a fashion show rehearsal, and this performer whose identity I don’t know. I actually kind of like not knowing who she is, honestly. I don’t know what it is exactly, but it was almost like being in a movie, seeing this happen from the sidelines.

Image

Here’s where the aggressive gorgeousness begins. This is a park behind Roppongi Hills, and it’s like a miniature Central Park. Miniature, mind you. Very miniature.

Image

I saw so many fathers hanging out with their kids that day, and it warmed my heart. So many kids looked either elated to be around their dads, and others, like the kid above, just seemed to enjoy having his father nearby. I happened upon these two while I was walking around – the son led his father by the sleeve to the water, then they watched the fish together. They didn’t say anything, but they had a remarkably palpable understanding between them.

Image

Another father-son duo I saw not long after the first two. Same comfortable quiet, and the son kept a hand on his father’s shoulder for a long time while they looked into the water.

Image

The adorable child whose shirt reads: “Trouble.” I have no idea what the backstory is but I’m thoroughly content living with the numerous possibilities.

Image

I loved this dog on sight. While his lady and I set up very different angles with our cameras, the dog kept trotting happily in my direction. Eventually, the lady laughed and gave up on her apparent goal of a cute sitting photo.

Image

One of my favorite spots in Japan (the favorite is in Namba): a bridge in Omote-sando, Japan’s street-shaped love letter to the Champs d’Elysees.

Image

Paradise/Desigual

Image

Shibuya Crossing

Image

Aha! Now we get into some photos from the Rainbow Pride event in Tokyo a little while ago. These two were brutally adorable.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Originally I wanted to walk in the parade. There were several branches of the parade, with the marching band first and then something like a dozen groups that followed. Then I had an idea – I wanted to see the reactions of the people on the sidewalk. What expressions they’d make, how they’d respond, etc.

 ImageImageImageImage

Some were blankfaced but curious, some smiled and waved, and some walked by without any reaction at all. Standing out isn’t a thing generally smiled upon in Japan anyway, so I wager a gay pride parade was particularly discomfiting for some.

Image

My idol

ImageImageImage

Aaaaand let’s make a huge skip ahead to today:

ImageImageImageImageImage

This isn’t a good shot. It’s too blurry and too dark, but I’m including it because it was an adorable thing that happened. I was leaving the grocery store a few hours ago and I heard the sound of metal clanging and people shouting and I knew the festival floats that had been traveling around my neighborhood earlier in the day were nearby now. I saw lanterns glowing down a side street as I carried my bags to the bus stop, and I glanced at my bus anxiously. I really wanted a night shot of the float, but I also knew once that bus left the next one wouldn’t go for about another fifteen minutes. Ultimately, the desire for photos won out and I perched on the edge of the sidewalk and got my camera out of my purse one-handed while three bags anchored my other hand down.

While I was watching the float go by, I kept snapping photos in the hopes that my night settings were set up right. When I finally managed to look up at the actual stuff I was photographing, I saw this cute guy my age smiling at me with his arms tightly crossed across his stomach. He winked, and I grinned back. He gave me one last playful eyebrow lift and then the moment ended. He walked off with the float, and I headed home on the bus (I also caught the bus before it left, so whoo!).

On the trip home I thought of how many moments happen because of split-second “yes” choices. I’ve had a multitude of small, happy moments just because I chose to do one more lap around the park instead of going home or saying yes to a trip when I wanted to stay in and laze around.

So even though the photo is objectively kind of terrible, I like it anyway.

I also like his biceps.

 Image

The End!

Zzzzzzzzz.

Leave a Reply

